Battery Tender Review

"Make sure that you use the charger that comes with the battery, and make sure the charger has a shutoff device, an automatic shutoff device, so it's not overcharged. That's typically the biggest issue which causes batteries to fail. – Thomas Kiklas"
Last updated - Oct 2nd 2020 by: Protheus
Share this review
share-on-facebook
share-on-facebook
share-on-facebook
share-on-facebook
battery-tender-review

Battery Tender 12V, 270mA, 5W Solar Battery Charger

About Battery Tender

Meta score: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ 5/5

Our verdict: Battery Tender is one of the top rated battery charger. During our testing we started to love the Battery Tender because we realized how many exceptional features it got. The Battery Tender is a creation from a company called Battery Tender but Amazon are responsible for the shipping and delivery "Fulfilled by Amazon" so Amazon will ship the item from a warehouse near you. This means added safety and faster delivery times for you, so we think that is good.

If you would want to own a Battery Tender you can buy it on Amazon.com.
Check out Battery Tender on Amazon now, where you can buy it for $74.95 (In Stock.) If you buy your Battery Tender at Amazon you will also get the shipping for free, which is a big plus in our books. You can get this battery charger with Amazon Prime. Want to know more about Amazon Prime and get a one month discounted trial?

Specification for Battery Tender

  • 5W solar panel with built-in Battery Tender 3-step microcontroller for super-smart charging that ensures that your battery is not damaged by overcharging
  • Output: 12 VDC, 270 mAmp DC, 5W max for battery charging and maintenance
  • Worry free: Reverse polarity protection, waterproof, sparkproof, built in temperature compensation sensor, and CE approved
  • Great for: Outdoor use, trickle charging, off road motorcycle, all-terrain vehicles
  • Approximate dimensions: 14"W X 16"L X 1"H
  • Weight: 3 pounds

Battery Tender Image Gallery

Check out Battery Tender at Amazon now

Verified Buyer Reviews & Ratings

The consensus of the reviews for the Battery Tender is very strong and we can draw no other conclusion that this is one of the very best solar battery charger on the market. We list the most helpful reviews below. If you want to look at all the reviews for Battery Tender you can see them at Amazon.com

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ Bought it for one purpose, now use it on a few. Probably need to buy a few more.
Reviewed in the United States on June 13, 2017 by cavalierdog

"Perfect for topping off the 12V battery while it sits in the parked travel trailer. I connected this with sensitive test equipment while also measuring current draw of the trailer, and this peaks at 1.0 amps on a sunny day, and you are aimed within 30 deg. of the sun. (It's rated 10W but I got a reliable 12+ watts under ideal conditions.) Clouds make a huge difference (this is typical). The shadow of my hand drops the output from 1.0 amps to 0.68 amps, that is, about a third less output. Be careful to not have any shadows on it. Also, after a few days of rain and pollen, the full sun output was now 0.85 amps. Wiped off with a paper towel and original results returned. This surface is smooth and flat and very easy to keep clean. One small point: you can't use this to power something directly. You need to connect it to a battery to "turn on" the output regulator - but it could be a very small 12v SLA and it would work just fine, even for a small ham radio setup on Field Day, or similar. Very happy with this product. Also, has some mounting holes in the corners in case you want to make it more of a permanent fixture."

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ Nice unit - one hint if you intend to test voltage
Reviewed in the United States on January 8, 2019 by CCUSA

"I love this unit and it works like a charm. I don't know how excited I can get about a battery tender but when things work like they should it just makes life a little bit easier. I like easier. As you know the unit comes with a solar panel, charge controller and a 5 foot cord. Here are my points: 1) 5 feet isn't a very long cord. If you need longer search Amazon for a SAE battery tender extension cord. I've seen them in various lengths with 25 and 12 feet coming to mind. I believe the 12 foot was around $9. 2) If you intend to measure voltage at the leads you MUST HAVE A BATTERY WITH AT LEAST 3 VOLTS CONNECTED to the unit before it will supply a charge. I guess they do this as a safety measure but it probably also protects the battery tender from overloads. 3) The mounting hardware supplied is simply 4 screws that allow you to directly attach the solar panel to something by its 4 corners. I ended up fabricating a mount and use an articulating antenna mount. In all about another $40. This unit is sized for lawn mower or ATV type batteries. However it could certainly maintain a car or boat battery as long as there isn't a significant drain on it (and the panel is exposed to plenty of sun). A significant drain could be caused by things like some clocks, lights, alarms and such. This unit has a light on the front to indicate when it is charging and when your battery has a full charge. If the light is off it means either there is not enough sun shining on the panel. If the light is amber blinking it means a battery is not connected. If the light is solid amber it is charging. If the light is green the battery is fully charged. The unit does not require full sun to produce a charge but the more sun the better. This is a great deal for the money for a ready to go solution."

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ Perfect for the camper! Add disconnect switch
Reviewed in the United States on May 12, 2017 by Cooper

"I added this to the propane cover of our camper to help maintain a charge in our battery. If you don't leave it plugged in, it drains the battery and doesn't stay charged for long. This should do the trick! 6.7.17- well, it isn't working. The brain of it isn't functioning correctly so now I will have to get a hold of the manufacturer to get a replacement. When I will I will follow up again. 3-12-2019 update I added a battery disconnect switch so my camper when parked can no longer drain the battery when parked. I have the battery tender hooked directly to the battery and it now seems to be keeping the battery charged. Supper happy"

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ Thank you, thank you for this battery tender!
Reviewed in the United States on January 14, 2018 by J. Hudson

"I purchased this in Sept. 2017, so I've used it now around 4 months. I have a 1999 Ford Taurus and the battery is 2 years old. I guess I might drive my car once or twice a month, so I had to drag out the charger, charge the battery, so I could use the car, every time! Since, I hooked the Battery Tender up to the battery, my car starts, every time. It has started, even when the temperature has been in the single digits and teens, for 2 whole weeks. I am thankful and thrilled, that I purchased this product. It was really easy to hook up, too."

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ No more dead car battery
Reviewed in the United States on October 23, 2017 by Alissa

"I bought this because since I am transitioning to a work-from-home position and am a student taking online classes, so I rarely drive and my car battery kept dying. Decided to get the 15 watt even though it might be a little overkill. My husband thought I was full of bull-hockey purchasing this solar charger so I didn't have to get my car jump-started all the time, but it works. I just put it on when I feel like it and my car starts right up the next time I need to drive somewhere. Doesn't even require a super sunny day to work. Just an FYI if you're considering the 15 watt- it's HUGE. I almost freaked out when I saw how large the amazon box was. It is almost as wide as my windshield, but it's pretty light weight, and it's easy to clamp onto my battery terminals (Kia Forte). I place it on my dash just sitting flat, open my drivers side window and fish the cords through, then close the window gently on the cord, pop the hood and wind the cord under the hood, hook it to the battery terminals and close the hood. Takes maybe a minute to get it set up; much less hassle than organizing for someone to give me a jump."

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ This thing is COOL!
Reviewed in the United States on October 22, 2019 by Ian A.

"I’m very happy with this little solar panel so far. I installed it semi-permanently on my roof rack, and ran it to my battery with the 25ft long extension cable. The reason I bought this was because my new battery has recently been getting low on my Jeep Cherokee, because I don’t use it everyday, and I didn’t want to have to deal with a plug in charger every time I want to drive my Jeep. The thing that really got me is that I can have the panel connected to the battery while using the battery, and more important to me, while I’m driving the Jeep. The panel seems to have a glass surface so I put chopped up bicycle inner tubes under all the corners and sides to reduce vibes when driving. The solar panel seems to charge the battery first to around 13.2v until tirs computer deems the battery charged, then it maintains its at 12.9v. I’ve been checking everyday when I get home and a few hours after dark to make sure it’s not overcharging the battery or draining it at night, and so far it’s not doing anything it shouldn’t. I would definitely recommend this charger as well as one of the extensions either 12 or 25, because the 60 incher it comes withis not much. I used a 25 footer from the middle of my roof, down the back, under the Jeep, through the frame, into the engine bay, to the battery. I also had the ring terminal connectors which are more suitable for long term connection than the alligator connectors. I do recommend this product and will update this if I do have problems with panel."

Best Solar Battery Tender

We think that the best solar battery tender is the combined solar panel and battery charger from Battery Tender. Highly recommend this product for anyone that wants a low cost, high capacity, high power solar charger. Sturdy construction, I hooked it up to my ATV and it fires right up, no problems. I bought this to keep the battery on my car in shape. I don't use it often, and I didn't want to have to pop the hood after every trip to hook it up. I leave this in the car on the dash. I've been using it for months. I use this charger to keep my quad battery Power. Edge 13005 charged. It connects easily and charges. As expected, it does not charge as well as my plug-in Battery-Tender-Plus, but I think that's only because where I live we have nighttime thus limiting it's actual charging time. It would be nice to be able to protect the connectors when they're not connected to the battery. Read more . . .

I have a minibike battery, so I plugged this into a battery I already have. When I put the charger on, I know the battery is fully charged, so I don't have to worry about the battery going dead. This is a great option in contrast to installing a power line or burying the charger in a corner and hope it doesn't get stolen. I have a 2002 BMW M3 convertible that I don't drive much in the winter and had been going through batteries every year. I bought the 10W because the car does draw a lot of juice even when parked and I wasn't confident I'd be getting perfect solar orientation. I bought the OBD II connector with it and leave the solar panel in the car on the dash. Even after weeks of not starting the car up the battery remains at 12.4 volts and the car starts right up. Read more . . .

Micro Controlled Battery Tender

The battery charger in this kit has a built-in microcontroller for smart charging. Buy this one, you won't be sorry. I own a 2002 BMW M3 convertible that I don't drive much in the winter and had been going through batteries every year. I bought the 10w because the car does draw a lot of juice even when parked and I wasn't confident I'd be getting perfect solar orientation. I bought the OBD II connector with it and leave the solar panel in the car on the dash. Even after weeks of not starting the car up the battery remains at 12.4 volts and the car starts right up. I check the lights on the solar charger every so often to make sure that it is running for the most part in maintenance mode. If it saves you one battery, it's paid for itself. Use if for my bike, its tall enough that it stands on the edge and leans nicely on the back of the bike. Battery is charging well so far and I will definitely recommend this one over the 10 or 5 watt charger. Read more . . .

Battery chargers without control can easily damage your battery since it will not stop charging when the battery is full. Use this for keeping the single deep cycle battery in my quad fully charged along with some parasite power draws. I have this on my boat hooked up to my batteries, now I dont have to take them out and charge them, I get a continuous charge all day long. This thing is great! I use it to keep my batteries charged in the RV. It works well. I haven't had the low battery alarm go off since it's been hooked up. One less thing to worry about. Installed this on the dash of a Ford Ranger that sits for a long period of time while I drive a company car. The battery used to go dead and I always had to jump start it. Never do this anymore!!!Highly suggested to auto and boat owners whom vehicles sit for any period of time. Store my ATV's in a car hauler. Read more . . .

Worry Free Battery Tender

Besides the charge controller which is a huge quality of life feature the Battery Tender is also spark and water proof and even has a heat sensor preventing it from overheating. Buy this product and you will not be disappointed. I bought this to keep the battery on my car in shape. The car has sat since December and had a dead battery. The battery was fully charged in a day and I am very happy with how well it works. I would give it 5 stars but the cables are very short. I have a Mini Cooper with the battery in the trunk and the cable could not reach the front seat, if I had to connect in the engine bay I would be forced to buy the extension. Product works just as designed. Just as a note, the charging sensor is next to the solar panel. I would like it to be next to the end plug or have an option to plug one inline. I keep my motorcycle in the barn and the cable could not reach the battery, if I had to connect in the engine bay I would be forced to buy the extension. Read more . . .

I own a deep cycle battery used in a car I don’t use often. I recently had to move it to a car I don’t use often, and I didn’t want to have to deal with a plug in charger every time I want to use the car. The thing that really got me is that I can have the panel connected to the battery while using the car. I have it connected to my battery in the driveway, in the woods, on the boat, and it has worked for years. I don't have to switch batteries or charge the battery. It is great for storage locations without power. I have it hooked to my tractor so I don’t have to disconnect it after long periods of none use. Seems to work great. I use this to keep my full sized pick-up battery charged. Read more . . .

Battery Tender In Conclusion

I would recommend this product to anyone who has a motorcycle that is not using often. My original Battery Tender for my boat lift was a/c powered and caught on fire in the dock box that housed the hydraulic pump and controls. This seems to be a much better, and safer solution. Compared to the price I paid for a 5 watt solar charger for my driveway gate, this was a real bargain! Died after 6 months. I installed on a roof, outside, but I thought this was OK for outside use. I’ll return and edit this based on response, but I’m not too plussed at this point. Fast forward over a year, and I finally contacted Deltran. Check out Battery Tender on Amazon now

More Top Rated solar battery charger

We have reviewed several other items of the solar battery charger type. Below are the reviews for the ones who we think are the best in class: