Rockpals SP003 100W Review

"If you take a solar panel from someone's rooftop and put it in a field, the amount you would pay for that power drops precipitously, what's the magic of having it on the rooftop ? It’s not clear. – Matt Freedman"
Last updated - Oct 13th 2020 by: Protheus
Share this review
share-on-facebook
share-on-facebook
share-on-facebook
share-on-facebook
rockpals-sp003-100w-review

Rockpals SP003 100W Foldable Solar Panel Charger for Suaoki Portable Generator / 8mm Goal Zero Yeti Power Station/Jackery Explorer 240, Webetop Battery Pack/USB Devices, with 3 USB Ports

About Rockpals SP003

Meta score: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ 5/5

Our meta rating: Rockpals SP003 is an excellent solar panel. When we performed the testing of the Rockpals SP003 we grew to like it even more and it is now one of our absolute favorites. The Rockpals SP003 is sold and manufactured by a company called ROCKPALS but the item is shipped from a nearby Amazon fulfillment center which makes for faster and safer delivery.

If you also want to have a Rockpals SP003 you can get it on Amazon.com.
Check out Rockpals SP003 on Amazon now, where you can buy it for $209.99 (In Stock.) As an added value, free shipping of Rockpals SP003 is available on Amazon. You can get this solar panel with Amazon Prime. Want to know more about Amazon Prime and get a one month discounted trial?

Specification for Rockpals SP003

  • MADE FOR SOLAR GENERATORS - Compatible with most solar generator on the market ( but not for Jackery 440 ). With our included different size of connectors(8mm DC Adapter for Jackery, 5.5*2.1mm for ROCKPALS 250/350/500w), and 5V USB devices, including smartphones and tablets(iPhone, iPad, Samsung Galaxy), GPS, digital cameras, etc
  • 3-USB SMART CHARGING TECHNOLOGY - The build-in smart IC chip intelligently identifies your device, and maximizes its charging speed while protects your devices from over charging and overloading. The charging current of USB ports (up to 2.4A max 5V DC per port, 6A max overall) is monitored and automatically adjusted according to the sunlight level.
  • HIGH CONVERSION EFFICIENCY - Constructed of high-efficiency solar arrays,convert up to 21.5-23.5% of solar power into free energy.
  • WATER-RESISTANT & DURABLE - Made from durable Oxford cloth. The solar panel is water resistant to endure all weather conditions, ideal for outdoor activities such as camping, climbing, hiking, picnic. Please NOTE: The junction box is not waterproof and please keep it dry.
  • FORDABLE & PORTABLE - Foldable design, convenient to carry it wherever you go. Folded dimensions: 20.5 * 14.2 * 2.6 inches.

Rockpals SP003 Image Gallery

Check out Rockpals SP003 at Amazon now

Verified Buyer Reviews & Ratings

The consensus of the reviews for the Rockpals SP003 is very strong and we can draw no other conclusion that this is one of the very best solar panel charger on the market. We list the most helpful reviews below. If you want to look at all the reviews for Rockpals SP003 you can see them at Amazon.com

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ I've tried others, this is the best
Reviewed in the United States on February 15, 2019 by Jean Paul Smith

"I've tried other panels, and ended up returning the others. I just bought 3 more of these, for a total of 4 now. I use them with 4 jackey explorer 240. These panels give literally twice as much wattage from solar, even on a cloudy day compared to the paxcess 50w. Or even the jackey solar panel itself. I have owned them all. I live off the grid in a shuttle bus, and these panels are an excellent buy!"

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ Convenient form factor; works as advertised (or better - see review).
Reviewed in the United States on May 12, 2019 by Peter Blankcard

"UPDATE Apr 2020: I've since purchased a second unit and I recently had the opportunity to test my two units while "boondocking" (RV term for remote camping). I wired them in series and hooked them up to a Renogy 30 amp MPPT charge controller. The best output I saw from the two panels (all numbers according to the Renogy controller) was 186 watts. During peak sun the output more typically hovered around 170 watts +/- 5 watts. During the three days we used the panels we got right around 1.5 kWh per day. This was in early April at 37°01'10.5"N latitude. I used cheap aluminum music stands to prop up the panels (2 stands per panel) and pointed the panels at the sun, rotating them occasionally to follow the sun's track throughout the day. 186 watts from the two panels is remarkable (93 watts each); probably a little too remarkable for two nominally 100-watt panels. I'm guessing that Rockpals derates the advertised capacity from their nominal capacity. Indeed, there is another seller of what appear to be (almost) identical panels that advertises its product as 120 watt panels. Original review: This panel is very nicely portable; the fact that it folds in fourths rather than half makes the form factor much nicer for transportation. The inclusion of various DC barrel connector sizes is nice. At local noon on May 13 at 40.29 degrees north latitude this panel put out 73 watts according to the portable power bank it was charging. DC amps were measured at 5.6 using a clamp-on ammeter. Open circuit voltage was 19.2; didn't have a convenient way to measure voltage under load (but if you believe the watts reported by the power bank then the voltage was right about 13). (Note: the photo is of a previous day in the late afternoon.) I used it to charge the 400 watt-hour power bank in the photo. The bank was between 20% and 40% charged (the bank display only 5 levels: 0-20, 20-40, etc.) and reached 100% charge in about 5 hours with charging starting at 9:45 am daylight saving time. About the only negative I've found so far is the lack of any sort of included or attached prop-up device to place the the panels at an angle."

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ Worth every penny
Reviewed in the United States on February 19, 2019 by Aston K Cole

"I've had this for about 5 months and even though its winter it works great. I use it with my Goal Zero Yeti 1000. It comes with a MC4 to 8mm connector so its plug and play. Rugged, portable and more efficient than my other panels. The Goal Zero foldable 100W is $500, I got this for $150 on a lightning deal. I will be purchasing one or two more."

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ As a solar contractor, I'm impressed with this panel!
Reviewed in the United States on February 3, 2019 by cparjr

"This solar panel is amazing! You can charge right off of it. Comes with many different interchangeable plugs to plug into whatever equipment you might have. 100 watts is a lot of power and as a solar contractor, I'm impressed. The size of this thing is like a small briefcase. Its very lightweight and is perfect for camping and disaster preparedness."

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ RockPals 100w Folding Solar Panels - The Best
Reviewed in the United States on March 26, 2019 by J. Ray

"I've purchased (4) of these panels; they are very well made. I like the quality of workmanship and careful shipment. This will make a nice addition to my trail gear when I decide to go for a week in the Jeep up into the mountains again. It's also nice around the house when I just want to conserve power. I use RockPals 12v, 300w (600w peak) Power Control Unit with these 100w folding moncrystalline panels and I can juice the Power Control Unit in just a few hours with complete sun. Now I have three of those Power Units for various purposes at home or when camping. Tip: ditch the area heater at night and plug a low-watt electric mattress heater into solar generated power to save $100's not having to heat your entire home during your next trip through the winter months. I do this and keep toasty warm through the night once in bed. So many options to power up small appliances or if you have the battery bank, just about anything! Great purchase, very happy with RockPals product line and customer service. Purchase with confidence."

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ Fast charger, 4 panels, 3 USB ports,
Reviewed in the United States on March 9, 2019 by David Leticia

"This is a very strong solar panel the build material looks awesome, the panels durability is remarkable and works excellent in low light. I charged my phone a GoPro hero 4 and a flashlight to test it and is extremely fast to charge. When it comes to carry it, is very compact and light weight and it fits my back country backpack ...for some reason this panel is more useful to me when going camping since it has 3 USB ports. It worths every penny."

Best 100 Watt Foldable Solar Panel

If you are looking for a 100W foldable solar panel we think that the Rockpals SP003 is the best. I'm looking forward to testing the product more thoroughly up hunting and camping in the travel trailer but so far I am happy I chose Rockpals. I'm using this with an Adaptive Fast charge in one direction, up. So far so good, I'll be testing the product more thoroughly up hunting and camping in the travel trailer but so far I am impressed. Use Jackery for lantern, tent light, air pump and iphones but plan on making an electric cooler purchase also since this makes my life so simple. These panels allow me to draw one hundred watts of power. So it will take about three hours to charge a Rockpals three hundred watt power station from completely dead. Read more . . .

I liked this a lot better than the solar panels and it seems to be the only one of the bunch. I also have the right input to use with my newly purchased Jackery 240. I'll be testing the product on camping trips and/or the apocalypse to see if there is any difference. I'm using this with a Jackery battery, and it works great. I especially like all the different attachments for output you can get with a Jackery battery. I like the built in USBC port, and the USB ports are a big bonus, as well. Read more . . .

Versatile 100 Watt Foldable Solar Panel

The Rockpals SP003 is really versatile, we have not seen any other brand that offers compatibility with so many solar genrators and mobile devices. I'm a little worried about the plastic coating on the solar cells scratching or getting UV damaged over time... but... that’s probably just because I love this thing so much and use it constantly, that I shudder to think about it eventually giving in to normal wear and tear. I also love this thing because it makes it super easy to setup and use. I like that even if I screw it up once, I have all the instructions and can get back to basics as fast as possible. I also love this thing for charging jackey explorer 1200 100 and yeti 400 lithium. Read more . . .

The 100 Watt foldable solar panel even have a buil-in IC chip that can detect which kind of device you just plugged in and then charge it with the correct voltage and ampere. I'm impressed. I tested it at about 3:15 pm edt and just laid it out flat in full sunlight. I was getting a steady 70w. I'm pulling in over 70w with some strong sun in Maine. I'm pleased! Here's the timing from when I line up my 400 watts to get that 71w:09:41 pm - Powering my 600W panel into existence. Read more . . .

Durable Design 100 Watt Foldable Solar Panel

The Rockpals SP003 has a very durable design with water resistant Oxford cloth. I bought this to power my Rockpals 300 watt solar generator. It's worked great so far. The only thing I hope to see with this is some sort of stand to easier orient the panels into the sun. I took this to Africa last month and it really served me well. Don’t go to a place with intermittent light offs without it. It holds well. I bought it with Suaoki Portable Starion, based on the Amazon review for compatibility and I am glad I did just that. Thus far, it appears to be a great working solar panel. I haven't had many opportunities to test it in the field yet. As I do, I'll be happy to update this review with how it performs. Read more . . .

The durability paired with the portability of the foldable design makes this the perfect solar panel for your outdoor adventures. I'm using this with an older Goal Zero Yeti 400 (lead acid). I'm gauging results by reading the USB outputs on the unit's charging port; 92W to 93W. I'm also gauging results by reading the XPS button pad; 5V/2.4A (on a good day) on a good day. These results speak well of the solar panel. I'm looking forward to testing these more thoroughly in the coming months. I've gotten 65 watts+ on it. Probably could squeeze out more. I had to build a rack for it to adjust for sun angle. Needs feet supports. Read more . . .

More Top Rated solar panel charger

We have reviewed several other items of the solar panel charger type. Below are the reviews for the ones who we think are the best in class: